Boost for the Glutes

29 Mar

A few years ago, I injured my knee after running my first half marathon. During my visit to the sports doctor, I asked what might’ve caused it. She responded that my core and glutes may not have been strong enough and my knees therefore compensated and got injured.

I was shocked at first, thinking there’s no way my core is weak! I do sit ups almost every day. But through the physical therapy, I realized there are lots of other muscles –such as my lower back, glutes and middle abs–I wasn’t developing properly.

As I continue training for my next half marathon just 5 weeks away, my new routine has more variety and consists of more than just running and kickboxing. 🙂  In addition to running, I’m now including Barre3 classes and strength training at the gym.

But if you’re just getting started, check out these 5 exercises from Map My Run to really focus on the glutes.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/blog/5-must-do-glute-exercises-for-runners-and-cyclists-5013/?utm_source=silverpop&utm_medium=email&utm_content=glute_button&utm_campaign=newsletter&spMailingID=51021902&spUserID=NDgwMzI4MDE3MjcS1&spJobID=883677353&spReportId=ODgzNjc3MzUzS0

Leave a Reply

