Image

Roasted Tomato Basil and Fresh Mozzarella Soup

10 Apr

After what has felt like a slow-starting and everlasting winter, it’s now Spring. But with that said, I really developed a new found love for soup. Specifically, tomato soups! And I mean all variations from tomato basil, tomato basil artichoke, tomato basil mozzarella and more.

So where did I develop such a longing for tomato basil soups? Aside from the instagram photos, it’s because of  Souper Jenny located on East Andrews. The menu changes daily, but the soups and salads are amazing. Now that the weather is warmer, they also have cold salads on the menu. But make sure you bring your checkbook/cash as they do not accept credit cards and expect a long line anytime after 11:30 a.m. So if you’re looking for a quick in-and-out lunch spot, this may not be your best option, but boy is the food delicious!

In my quest to learn how to cook with basil and finding I had more tomatoes than I knew what to do with, I looked up several tomato basil soups until I found the following recipe by Ina Garten of the Food Network. Check out the full recipe  below.

I’ll admit, it probably took me two hours total to make the recipe and I didn’t follow it exactly, but it was worth every drop. For example, I tossed the soup into the Vitamix for a smoother texture and I added fresh mozzarella chunks just because I love it and had some available from my caprese salad ingredients. I also added extra chili flakes. (Shhh) As with any soup, serve it with some warm bread or toast (Hawaiian bread in my case) and you’ll be set!

Unfortunately, I forgot to snap a picture of the roasted tomatoes, so visualize that as the first image in my brief series.

Slow roasted for 40 minutes.

Slow roasted for 40 minutes.

Into the vitamix for a grainy texture

Into the vitamix for a grainy texture

wpid-20130406_203033_edit0_edit0.jpg

Get in my belly you roasted tomato basil and mozzarella soup!

RECIPE

Total Time:
1 hr 50 min

Prep:15 min
Cook:1 hr 35 min

Yield: 6 to 8 servings

Ingredients
3 pounds ripe plum tomatoes, cut in half lengthwise
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons good olive oil
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
2 cups chopped yellow onions (2 onions)
6 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 (28-ounce) canned plum tomatoes, with their juice
4 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
1 quart chicken stock or water

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Toss together the tomatoes, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread the tomatoes in 1 layer on a baking sheet and roast for 45 minutes.

2. In an 8-quart stockpot over medium heat, saute the onions and garlic with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, the butter, and red pepper flakes for 10 minutes, until the onions start to brown. Add the canned tomatoes, basil, thyme, and chicken stock. Add the oven-roasted tomatoes, including the liquid on the baking sheet. Bring to a boil and simmer uncovered for 40 minutes. Pass through a food mill fitted with the coarsest blade. Taste for seasonings. Serve hot or cold.

Do you have a favorite tomato soup recipe? While I’m clearly biased, I’d love to see your favorites!

Leave a Reply

